Connect with us

Blood picks up National Society of Film Critics accolades


Blood picks up National Society of Film Critics accolades

Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece dominated the National Society of Film Critics' 42nd edition claiming best picture, director, actor and cinematography. This win confirms a passing thought that I have – the earlier lists year-end lists were placing No Country for Old Men as tops, while the end of December lists have pegged There Will Be Blood. Two significant awards cateogires that differ from most common lists is the Best Experimental Film award which this year goes to John Gianvito's "Profit Motive and the Whispering Wind” and the Film Heritage Award goes to what seems like a really cool DVD box set (it was featured on Ebert & Roeper) called Ford at Fox, a 21-disc box set from Fox Home Video Ross Lipman, UCLA Film and Television Archive. Here is the complete list of winners below: 


Best Picture: There Will Be Blood

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson (There Will Be Blood)
Best Screenplay: Tamara Jenkins (The Savages)

Best Actress: Julie Christie (Away From Her)
Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood)
Best Supporting Actress: Cate Blanchett (I’m not There)
Best Supporting Actor: Casey Affleck (The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford)
Cinematography: Robert Elswit There Will Be Blood
Best Nonfiction film: No End in Sight
Best Foreign-language film: 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days

Continue Reading
You may also like...

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric splits his time between his home base in Montreal, NYC, and is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. Top 3 from 2016: Certain Women (Kelly Reichardt), Things to Come (Mia Hansen-Løve), Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade)

Click to comment

More in Retro


Super 8: Trending



Coming soon!

To Top