Connect with us

Film Award & Prize News

Nuri Bilge Ceylan Receives the 2012 Directors’ Fortnight Carrosse d’Or prize

Master filmmaker Nuri Bilge Ceylan will be receiving this year’s Directors’ Fortnight Carrosse d’Or prize. In just a little over a decade, the Turkish filmmaker has made a remarkable string of five feature films featuring everyday people in everyday situations with an aesthetic that favors lush colorless backdrops, static shoots and the use of the long take. THR reports that “the filmmaker will be honored on the opening Ceremony on May 17. Earlier in the day, Ceylan’s 1999 title Clouds of May will screen for festgoers followed by a master class with the filmmaker.” IONCINEMA will be there to cover the event. Previous recipients include: Jacques Rozier, Clint Eastwood, Nanni Moretti, Sembene Ousmane, David Cronenberg, Alain Cavalier, Jim Jarmusch, Naomie Kawasé and last year’s more politically sound selection, Jafar Panahi.

A photographer prior to becoming a filmmaker, his filmography includes a pair of shorts (one which was presented at the festival) and a one film per every 2-4 year range beginning with Clouds of May (2000), Distant (2002), Climates (2006), Three Monkeys (2008) and last year’s Jury Prize winning work of art in, Once Upon a Time in Anatolia. Distant won the Jury Prize and the Best Actor prize, Climates won the FIPRESCI Movie Critics Award and Three Monkeys won the Director prize.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Award & Prize News

To Top