Connect with us

Film Festivals

Video: Palme d’Or Jury – 2017 Cannes Film Festival

The final day of the Cannes Film Festival is one of trepidation and tremendous release – and I’d argue, that this applies to the journalists covering the fest as well. Palme D’Or prognostications and hedging bets give way to the celebration of cinema and for the jury, the final presser becomes a lieu to be tight lipped or to validate their decisions. This was an animated and emotional get together and you got a sense that there might have been some jostling to pick the appropriate and just winners.

Pedro Almodóvar, Spanish film director and screenwriter, Jury President
Maren Ade, German film director
Fan Bingbing, Chinese actress
Park Chan-wook, South Korean film director
Jessica Chastain, American actress and producer
Agnès Jaoui, French actress and film director
Will Smith, American actor and producer
Paolo Sorrentino, Italian film director
Gabriel Yared, French-Lebanese composer

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top