Connect with us

Film Festivals

2013 Cannes Award Winners in Pictures: Triple Love for Kechiche, Exarchopoulos and Seydoux

It was to be expected the moment that the Best Actress prize was given to Bérénice Béjo (The Past), that the chances for Palme D’Or winner for Abdellatif Kechiche could materialize — but even when they were finished announcing the Grand Prix prize, the Spielberg led jury gave a with special recognition to thesps Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux – combining the prize as a triple award. Here are pics of the winners – taken from the press conference room.

Abdellatif Kechiche Adèle Exarchopoulos Léa Seydoux

Palme D’Or winner: Abdellatif Kechiche’s Blue is the Warmest Colour with special recognition to: Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux

Coens Bros. Grand Prix 2013

Grand Prix winner: Coen Bros.’ Inside Llewyn Davis (Oscar Isaac accepting)

Jury prize winner: Kore-Eda Hirokazu’s Like Father Like Son.

Amat Escamante for the Best Director prize Heli

Best Director: Amat Escamante for Heli.

Jia Zhangke, winner of the Best Screenplay for A Touch Of Sin:

The great Jia Zhangke, winner of the Best Screenplay for A Touch Of Sin.

Alexander Payne Bruce Dern, winner of the Best Actor for Nebraska

Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska (Alexander Payne accepting)

Bérénice Béjo, winner of Best Female Actress for The Past

Best Actress: Bérénice Béjo, The Past

Anthony Chen, winner of the  Caméra d’or for Ilo Ilo

From the Directors’ Fortnight, Singapore filmmaker Anthony Chen wins the Caméra d’or for Ilo Ilo.

Byoung-Gon Moon Adriano Valerio Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson

From left to right: Special Mention award goes to Adriano Valerio (37°4S) , Byoung-Gon Moon (Safe) was the winner of the Short Film Palme d’or, and Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson (Hvalfjordur) also received a special mention.

Spielberg Cannes Jury 2013

Spielberg Cannes Jury 2013

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).


More in Film Festivals

To Top