Connect with us

Film Festivals

Doubling Up: Coogler’s “Fruitvale” and Hoover’s “Blood Brother” are the Toast of Sundance 2013

Ryan Coogler’s Fruitvale and Steve Hoover’s Blood Brother were the big winners at the 2013 edition of the Sundance Film Festival – both picked up the Audience awards and Grand Jury Prizes in their respective categories. Here’s the complete list of 2013 Sundance Film Festival Award winners:

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: “Fruitvale,” directed by Ryan Coogler
Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: “Blood Brother,” directed by Steve Hoover
World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic: “Jiseul,” directed by Muel O
World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary: “A River Changes Course,” directed Kalyanee Mam
Dramatic Audience Award: “Fruitvale,” directed by Ryan Coogler
Documentary Audience Award: “Blood Brother,” directed by Steve Hoover
World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: “Metro Manila,” directed by Sean Ellis
World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: “The Square,” directed by Jehane Noujaim
The Best of NEXT Audience Award: “This Is Martin Bonner,” directed by Chad Hartigan
Directing Award, Dramatic: Jill Solloway, “Afternoon Delight”
Directing Award, Documentary: Zachary Heinzerling, “Cutie and the Boxer
World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic: Sebastián Silva, “Crystal Fairy”
World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary: Tinatin Gurchiani, “The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear”
Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award: Lake Bell, “In a World”
World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Barmak Akram, “Wajma (An Afghan Love Story)”
Documentary Editing Award: Matthew Hamachek, “Gideon’s Army”
World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: Ben Stark, “The Summit”
Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Bradford Young, “Ain’t Them Bodies Saints” and “Mother of George”
Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary: Richard Rowley, “Dirty Wars”
World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Michal Englert, “Lasting”
World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary: Marc Silver & Pau Esteve Birba, “Who Is Dayani Cristal?”
Special Jury Prize: Dramatic (Acting): Miles Teller & Shailene Woodley, “The Spectacular Now”
Special Jury Prize: Dramatic (For Sound Design) Shane Carruth & Johnny Marshal, “Upstream Color”
Special Jury Prizes: Documentary:
“Inequality For All,” directed by Jacob Kornbluth
“American Promise” directed by Joe Brewster & Michèle Stephenson

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary “Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer,” directed by Mike Lerner & Maxim Pozdorovkin
World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Dramatic “Circus” directed by Srdan Golubovic
Alfred P. Sloan Prize “Computer Chess,” directed by Andrew Bujalsi
The Short Film Audience Award “Catnip: Egress to Oblivion,” directed by Jason Willis
The Short Film Grand Jury Prize: “The Whistle,” directed by Grzegorz Zariczny
The Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction: “Whiplash,” directed by Damien Chazelle
The Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction: “The Date,” directed by Jenni Toivoniemi
The Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction: “Skinningrove,” directed by Michael Almereyda
The Short Film Jury Award: Animation: “Irish Folk Furniture,” directed by Tony Donoghue
A Short Film Special Jury Award for Acting: Joel Naglein in “Palimpsest”
A Short Film Special Jury Award: “Until the Quiet Comes,” directed by Kahlil Joseph

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top