Connect with us

Film Award & Prize News

Enemy Lands Five but Louise Archambault’s Gabrielle is Tops at 2014 Canadian Screen Awards

Despite not being nominated for Best Director, Louise Archambault’s Gabrielle managed to pull off what we thought was the impossible (our Leora Heilbronn has pegged the drama as the film that should win, but favored Denis Villeneuve’s Enemy as the best bet) winning Best Motion Picture at the 2014 Canadian Screen Awards (a.k.a Canadian Oscars). If the out of synch supposed “live” telecast wasn’t bad enough (all awards including the winning film were announced almost one hour prior to on twittersphere), the show’s producers gave Gabrielle winning producers Luc Déry and Kim McCraw the equivalent of end of toilette paper roll in terms of time.

The voters also choose Gabrielle‘s Gabrielle Marion-Rivard as Best Actress in a Leading Role, while the heavily favored Enemy grabbed five awards, Best Direction for Villeneuve, Best Original Score for the excellent Danny Bensi/Saunder Jurriaans pairing , Best Editing, Best Cinematography and the Best Supporting Actress prize for Canadian sweetheart Sarah Gadon. For many, the triumph of the evening was the tribute to Canadian icon David Cronenberg. Presented by his upcoming ‘Maps to the Stars’ actor Jay Baruchel and former muse Viggo Mortensen, Cronenberg was met with a resounding standing ovation from the packed audience at the luxurious Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. While the well respected Tom at the Farm, TIFF rejected The Dirties, and Rhymes for Young Ghouls were all surprisingly shut out of awards, attendees from each film were (in true Canadian fashion) gracious and in good spirits following the awards gala.

Here are the complete list of winners (most were not included in the live telecast) and not available on the official website.

Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design
Michel Proulx – “Louis Cyr, l’homme le plus fort du monde/Louis Cyr: The Strongest Man in the World”

Achievement in Cinematography
Nicolas Bolduc CSC – “Enemy”

Achievement in Costume Design
Carmen Alie – “Louis Cyr, l’homme le plus fort du monde/Louis Cyr: The Strongest Man in the World”

Achievement in Direction
Sponsor | Pinewood Toronto Studios
Denis Villeneuve – “Enemy”

Achievement in Editing
Sponsor | The PostMan Post-Production Studio
Matthew Hannam – “Enemy”

Achievement in Make-Up
Sponsor | M•A•C Cosmetics
Jo-Ann Macneil, Karola Dirnberger, Paul Jones – “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones”

Achievement in Music – Original Score
Danny Bensi, Saunder Jurriaans – “Enemy”

Achievement in Music – Original Song
Sponsor | Slaight Music
Jimmy Harry, Serena Ryder – “The Right Kind of Wrong” – “It’s No Mistake”

Achievement in Overall Sound
Sponsor | Deluxe Toronto
Andrew Tay, David Drage, David Giammarco, Greg Chapman, Matt McKenzie, Peter Persaud – “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones”

Achievement in Sound Editing
Sponsor | IMAX
Alex Bullick, Christian Schaaning, J.R. Fountain, Jill Purdy, Kevin Banks, Nathan Robitaille, Nelson Ferreira, Stephen Barden, Steve Baine – “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones”

Achievement in Visual Effects
Andy Robinson, Dennis Berardi, Edward J. Taylor IV, James Cooper, Jason Edwardh, Jo Hughes, Leann Harvey, Sean Mills, Stephen Wagner, Trey Harrell – “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones”

Adapted Screenplay
Elan Mastai – “The F-Word”

Best Animated Short
“Subconscious Password” – Chris Landreth, Marcy Page, Mark Smith

Best Live Action Short Drama
“Noah” – Patrick Cederberg, Walter Woodman

Best Motion Picture
Sponsor | William F. White International and Comweb Group
“Gabrielle” – Kim McCraw, Luc Déry

Best Short Documentary
Sponsor | Hot Docs
“Chi” – Anne Wheeler, Yves J. Ma, Tracey Friesen

Original Screenplay
Sponsor | Harold Greenberg Fund
Shannon Masters – “Empire of Dirt”

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Gabriel Arcand – “Le Démantèlement/The Auction”

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Gordon Pinsent – “The Grand Seduction”

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Gabrielle Marion-Rivard – “Gabrielle”

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Sarah Gadon – “Enemy”

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary
“Watermark” – Edward Burtynsky, Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier, Daniel Iron

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in Film Award & Prize News

To Top