Connect with us


Reygadas takes top prize at 43rd Chicago Int. Film Festival

Carlos Reygadas' Silent Light (Luz Silenciosa) has won the Golden Hugo as Best Film of the 43rd Chicago film festival, just nudging out Wang Quanan's Tuya's Marriage – which picked up a pair of prizes winning the best actress award as well. Anton Corbijn's Control faired especially grabbing top acting honors and screenplay. Here is the complete list of winners below including New Directors section, Docu and Short film awards.

Gold Hugo – Best Film is awarded to:
Silent Light (Mexico), directed by Carlos Reygadas, for its mesmerizing power to make us hear silence in a world of sound.

The Silver Hugo – Special Jury Prize is awarded to:
Tuya’s Marriage (China), directed by Wang Quanan, for its strong portrait of a woman struggling to survive a remote landscape.

The Silver Hugo for Direction is awarded to:
You, The Living (Sweden) for his extraordinary, quirky vision and humor.

Silver Hugo Award – Best Actress is awarded to:
Yu Nan for Tuya’s Marriage (China) for her delicate, natural performance as a woman in crisis which is the soul of the film.

Silver Hugo Award – Best Actor is awarded to:
Sam Riley for Control (UK) for an incredible star-making performance as Ian Curtis.

The Silver Hugo Award for Best Screenplay is awarded to:
Matt Greenhalgh for Control (UK), based on the book by Deborah Curtis, for brilliantly capturing the essence of a rock legend in a dramatically complete love story.

Chico Teixeira for Alice’s House (Brazil), for recognizing a dynamic new talent in Latin filmmaking.

New Directors Competition

The Gold Hugo is awarded to:
In Memory of Myself (Italy), directed by Saverio Costanzo. Writer/director Costanzo situates a tormented seminarian in a study of the architecture of the existential soul.

The Silver Hugo is awarded to:
Not By Chance (Brazil), directed by Philippe Barcinski, for its vibrant portrayal of the way lives intersect by chance and design as depicted on the streetscape of Sao Paolo. Barcinski also co-wrote the screenplay.

Short Film Competition

The Gold Hugo for Best Short Film is awarded to:
Hesitation (France/UK), directed by Virginia Gilbert.

The Silver Hugo for Best Narrative Short Film is awarded to:
Partus (Denmark), directed by Mikkel Munch-Falls, and Stuck (Scotland) directed by Graham Drysdale.

The Gold Plaque for Best Narrative Short Film is awarded to:
27,000 Days (U.S.), directed by Naveen Singhi.

The Silver Plaque for Best Narrative Short Film is awarded to:
Train Town (U.S., directed by Keith Bearden.

The Silver Hugo for Animated Short Film is awarded to:
Everything Will Be Ok (U.S.), directed by Don Hertzfeld, and For the Love of God (United Kingdom), directed by Joe Tucker.

The Gold Plaque for Animated Short Film is awarded to:
Yours Truly (United Kingdom), directed by Osbert Parker.

The Silver Plaque for Animated Short Film is awarded to:
Sleeping Betty (Canada), directed by Claude Cloutier

The Gold Plaque for Experimental Film is awarded to:
The Delaware Project (Canada), directed by Melanie Shatzky and Brian M. Cassidy.

The Gold Hugo for Best Documentary Short is awarded to:
The Ladies (U.S.), directed by Christina Voros.
Docufest Competition

The Gold Hugo for Best Documentary is awarded to:
Taxi to the Dark Side (U.S.), directed by Alex Gibney.

The Silver Hugo is awarded to:
Chicago 10 (U.S.), directed by Brett Morgen

The Gold Plaque in Direction is awarded to:
America the Beautiful (U.S.), directed by Darryl Roberts

The Gold Plaque in Photography is awarded to:
4 Elements (Netherlands), directed by Jiska Rickels

The Special Jury Prize (Silver Plaque) is awarded to:
Operation Filmmaker (U.S.), directed by Nina Davenport, and A Walk into the Sea (U.S.), directed by Esther Robinson.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Retro

To Top