Connect with us

Film Award & Prize News

Rohrwacher’s “The Wonders”, Östlund’s “Tourist” & Pawlikowski’s “Ida” Among Ten LUX Prize Finalists

With past winners being The Broken Circle Breakdown and Lorna’s Silence and past finalists being 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days, Attenberg and The Selfish Giant, the annual LUX prize (an annual spotlight on films that go to the heart of the European public debate) acts as a barometer for the latest in solid European fare. Announced yesterday at the Karlovy Vary Film Fest, this year’s batch of noms include several Cannes winners in Alice Rohrwacher’s sophomore, Main Comp selected, Grand Prix winning family drama, Kornél Mundruczó’s Un Certain Regard winning film with a little bit, and Ruben Östlund darkly comical slope-side gem. If I were a betting man, my two euros is on Pawel Pawlikowski’s Ida. Here are the ten, with attached trailers:

Beautiful Youth (Hermosa Juventud) – (Jaime Rosales) – Spain, France

Class Enemy (Razredni Sovraznik) – (Rok Biček) – Slovenia

Force Majeure (Turist) – (Ruben Östlund) – Sweden, Denmark, France, Norway

Girlhood (Bande De Filles) – (Céline Sciamma) – France

Ida – (Pawel Pawlikowski) – Poland, Denmark

Macondo (Sudabeh Mortezai) – Austria

Stations Of The Cross (Kreuzweg) – (Dietrich Brüggemann) – Germany, France

White God (Feher Isten) – (Kornél Mundruczó) – Hungary, Germany, Sweden

The Wonders (Le Meraviglie) – (Alice Rohrwacher) – Italy, Switzerland, Germany

Xenia (Panos H. Koutras) – Greece, France, Belgium

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in Film Award & Prize News

To Top