Connect with us
Jaione Camborda The Rye Horn

Film Festivals

2023 San Sebastián: Camborda’s “The Rye Horn” Wins Golden Shell, “Kalak” & “Puan” Double Up in Prizes

2023 San Sebastián: Camborda’s “The Rye Horn” Wins Golden Shell, “Kalak” & “Puan” Double Up in Prizes

It’s now the fourth year in a row that a female filmmaker has won San Sebastián’s prestigious Golden Shell award. After Déa Kulumbegashvili’s Beginning, Alina Grigore’s Blue Moon and last year’s Laura Mora’s The Kings of the World, it is Jaione Camborda‘s The Rye Horn wins the biggest prize of them all. The film had its world premiere in the Platform section at the Toronto Intl. Film Festival. Isabella Eklöf’s Kalak and María Alché plus Benjamín Naishtat’s Puan doubled up with wins – Kalak grabbed a Special Jury Prize and Best Cinematography, while Puan nabbed Best Screenplay and Best Leading perf for Marcelo Subiotto. The Best Director prize was handed out to Peng Tzu-Hui and Wang Ping-Wen’s A Journey in Spring. Herer are the boat load of prizes across all sections including works in progress:

Golden Shell for Best Film: “The Rye Horn,” d. Jaione Camborda
Special Jury Prize: “Kalak,” d. Isabella Eklöf
Silver Shell for Best Director: “A Journey in Spring” d. Peng Tzu-Hui, Wang Ping-Wen
Silver Shell for Best Leading Performance (tied): Marcelo Subiotto for “Puan,” d. María Alché, Benjamín Naishtat and Tatsuya Fuji for “Great Absence,” d. Kei Chika-Ura
Silver Shell for Best Supporting Performance: Hovik Keuchkerian for “Un Amor,” d. Isabel Coixet
Best Cinematography: Nadim Carlsen for “Kalak,” d. Isabella Eklöf
Best Screenplay: “Puan,” d. María Alché, Benjamín Naishtat

Kutxabank New Directors Award: “Bahadur the Brave,” d. Diwa Shah
Horizontes Award: “The Castle,” d. Martín Benchimol
Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award: “The Human Surge 3,” d. Eduardo Williams
Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award (Special Mention): “El Juicio” d. Ulises de la Orden
Audience Award for Best Film: “Society of the Snow,” d. J.A. Bayona
Audience Award for Best European Film: “I’m Captain” (“Me Captain”) d. Matteo Garrone
Nest The Mediapro Studio Award: “Amma Ki Katha,” d. Nehal Vyas
Nest The Mediapro Studio Award (Special Mention): “Entre Les Autres,” d. Marie Falys
Irizar Basque Film Award: “Sultana’s Dream,” d. Isabel Herguera
Culinary Zinema Best Film Award: “The Taste of Things” (“The Pot-au-Feu”), d. Tràn Anh Hùng
TCM Youth Award: “The Blue Star,” d. Javier Macipe
Eusko Label First Prize: “Latxa,” d. Mikel Urretabizkaia
Eusko Label Second Prize: “Soroborda,” d. Paolo Tizón
DALE! Award: “Little War,” d. Barbara Sarasola-Day
Artekino International Prize: “The Days Off,” d. Lucila Mariani
XII Europe-Latin America Co-production Forum Best Project Award: “These Were All Fields,” d. Daniela Abad Lombana
WIP Latam Industry Award: “Most People Die on Sunday,” d. Iair Said
Egeda Platino Industria Award For The Best WIP Latam: “Most People Die on Sunday,” d. Iair Said
WIP Europa Industry Award: “Mannequins,” d. Michael Fetter Nathansky
WIP Europa Award: “Mannequins,” d. Michael Fetter Nathansky
Ikusmira Berriak Award: “After the Night, the Night,” d. Naomi Pacifique
Zinemaldia Startup Challenge Best Spanish Project: WitScript
Zinemaldia Startup Challenge Best European Project:

FIPRESCI Award: “Fingernails,” d. Christos Nikou
RTVE Another Look Award: “The Royal Hotel,” d. Kitty Green
RTVE Another Look Award (Special Mention): “All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt,” d. Raven Jackson
Spanish Co-operation Award: “The Blue Star,” d. Javier Macipe
Dunio Asaya Award: “Creatura,” d. Elena Martín Gimeno
Dunio Asaya Award (Special Mention): “While You’re Still You,” d. Claudia Pinto Emperador
Euskadi Basque Country 2030 Agenda Award: “Les Indésirables,” d. Ladj Ly

Donostia Awards: Hayao Miyazaki, Javier Bardem, Víctor Erice
Zinemira Award: Paco Sagarzazu

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top