Connect with us
2024 Cinema Eye Honors

Film Festivals

2024 Cinema Eye Honors Awards: Sam Green’s 32 Sounds Lands Best Picture – Oscar Nom Next?

2024 Cinema Eye Honors Awards: Sam Green’s 32 Sounds Lands Best Picture – Oscar Nom Next?

Sam Green‘s 32 Sounds took the top honor of Best Feature at the 2024 Cinema Eye Honors Awards. Will this acknowledgement help raise the film’s profile for next week’s Oscar voting? The doc which premiered at the 2022 edition of the Sundance Film Festival beat out Mstyslav Chernov’s 20 Days in Mariupol, Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson’s Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project, Davis Guggenheim’s Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie, Maite Alberdi’s The Eternal Memory, Kaouther Ben Hania’s Four Daughters and D. Smith’s Kokomo City which had the most noms of all docs with six. All of these films except the groundbreaking Kokomo City were on the Oscars shortlist. In other noteworthy category wins we find Kaouther Ben Hania (once again sharing a prize win as she did in Cannes) and Maite Alberdi tying for the Best Director award while Kokomo City nabbed its director the Best Debut Feature award. Here are last night’s winners:

Outstanding Nonfiction Feature: “32 Sounds” – Directed by Sam Green / Produced by Josh Penn and Thomas O. Kriegsman
Outstanding Direction: (TIE)
Maite AlMost of berdi, “The Eternal Memory”
Kaouther Ben Hania, “Four Daughters”
Outstanding Editing: Michael Harte, “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”
Outstanding Production: 20 Days in Mariupol
Outstanding Cinematography: Ants Tammik, “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood”
Outstanding Original Score: JD Samson, “32 Sounds”
Outstanding Sound Design: Mark Mangini, “32 Sounds”
Outstanding Visual Design: Thomas Curtis and Sean Pierce, “Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project”
Outstanding Debut: “Kokomo City,” directed by D. Smith

Outstanding Nonfiction Short: “Black Girls Play: The Story of Hand Games,” directed by Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson

Audience Choice Prize: “Bobi Wine: The People’s President,” directed by Moses Bwayo and Christopher Sharp

Spotlight: “Q,” directed by Jude Chehab

Heterodox: “The Buriti Flower,” directed by João Salaviza and Renée Nader Messora

Broadcast Film: “The Stroll,” directed by Kristen Lovell and Zackary Drucker

Nonfiction Series: “Paul T. Goldman,” directed by Jason Woliner

Anthology Series: “The 1619 Project”
Executive Producers: Nikole Hannah-Jones, Roger Ross Williams, Shoshana Guy, Caitlin Roper, Kathleen Lingo, Helen Verno and Oprah Winfrey

Broadcast Editing: “Pretty Baby: Brooke Shields”
Editors: Sara Newens, Anne Yao and David Teague

Broadcast Cinematography: “Nothing Lasts Forever”
Cinematographer: Heloisa Passos

Legacy Award: Penelope Spheeris

The Unforgettables (Non-Competitive Honor)
“American Symphony”: Jon Batiste and Suleika Jaouad
“Apolonia, Apolonia”: Apolonia Sokol
“Bobi Wine: The People’s President”: Bobi Wine
“Confessions of a Good Samaritan”: Penny Lane
“The Disappearance of Shere Hite”: Shere Hite
“The Eternal Memory”: Augusto Góngora & Paulina Urrutia
“Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project”: Nikki Giovanni
“Invisible Beauty”: Bethann Hardison
“Joan Baez I Am a Noise”: Joan Baez
“Kokomo City”: Daniella Carter, Koko Da Doll, Liyah Mitchell and Dominique Silver
“The Pigeon Tunnel”: David Cornwell aka John le Carré
“Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”: Michael J. Fox
“A Still Small Voice”: Margaret “Mati” Engel
“Twice Colonized”: Aaju Peter
“While We Watched”: Ravish Kumar

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top