Connect with us

Film Award & Prize News

Xavier Dolan Fills “Mommy” Shopping Cart with 10 Jutra Awards (Quebec Oscars)

Xavier Dolan tied contemporaries Philippe Falardeau and Denis Villeneuve by winning his second Best Feature award at the 17th annual Jutra Awards. Quebec’s answer to the Oscars was a rather suspense-less affair as Mommy claimed nine (plus the top box office award honor) awards winning in all major categories with the exclusion of Best Supporting Actor category win, which would only end up going to Dolan’s other nominated film, Tom at the Farm. Pierre-Yves Cardinal was sublime in his predatory type role and as was the case for several nominees, was hard at work on another project and therefore not on hand for trophyware. Ricardo Trogi’s throwback to awkward teen years tale 1987 did win a trio of awards, but if there were any surprises in the Dolan camp it was the acceptance speeches: Dolan delivered a keynote speech type quality for the last win of the night and for those who did see him win in Cannes — I would say it was on par with his film history book love poem to future generations, and his trio of muses headed by Anne Dorval were still moved by what decidedly became roles of a live time. And while it went two for ten on the score-card, Stéphane Lafleur’s B&W Directors’ Fortnight gem Tu dors Nicole along with Dolan’s pair of films, and Villeneuve’s English language Enemy, represent a collective year of bold, inventive and energetic Quebecois cinema. Here are the noms & winners:

Meilleur film / Best Film
1987 – Go Films (Nicole Robert)
3 histoires d’Indiens – Coop Vidéo de Montréal (Virginie Dubois, Robert Morin)
Mommy – Metafilms (Nancy Grant)
Tom à la ferme – Sons of Manual (X. Dolan, N. Grant, L. Lafontaine), MK2 (C. Gillibert, N. Karmitz)
Tu dors Nicole – Micro_scope (Luc Déry, Kim McCraw)

Meilleure réalisation / Best Director
Xavier Dolan – Mommy – WINNER
Xavier Dolan – Tom à la ferme
Stéphane Lafleur – Tu dors Nicole
Rober Morin – 3 histoires d’Indiens
Denis Villeneuve – Enemy

Meilleure actrice / Best Actress
Julianne Côté (Nicole Gagnon) – Tu dors Nicole
Anne Dorval (Diane «D.I.E» Després) – Mommy WINNER
Laurence Leboeuf (Julie Arseneau) – La petite reine
Joëlle Paré-Beaulieu (Roxanne) – Qu’est-ce qu’on fait ici ?
Lise Roy (Agathe) – Tom à la ferme

Meilleur acteur / Best Actor
Walter Borden (Mr. Peabody) – Gerontophilia
Jean-Carl Boucher (Ricardo) – 1987 WINNER
Guy Nadon (Normand) – L’ange gardien
Antoine Olivier Pilon (Steve Després) – Mommy
Patrice Robitaille (JP) – La petite reine

Meilleure actrice de soutien / Best Supporting Actress
Suzanne Clément (Kyla) – Mommy WINNER
Catherine St-Laurent (Véronique Simard) – Tu dors Nicole
Sandrine Bisson (Claudette) – 1987
Evelyne Brochu (Sarah) – Tom à la ferme
Dalal Ata (mère d’Ali âgée) – Arwad

Meilleur acteur de soutien / Best Supporting Actor
Francis La Haye (JF/batteur) – Tu dors Nicole
Pierre-Yves Cardinal (Francis) – Tom à la ferme WINNER
Stephen McHattie (Samuel Beckett) – Meetings with a young poet
Robin Aubert (Martin) – Miraculum
Patrick Hivon (Guylain) – L’ange gardien

Meilleur scénario / Best Screenplay
Stéphane Lafleur – Tu dors Nicole
Xavier Dolan – Mommy WINNER
Ricardo Trogi – 1987
Xavier Dolan et Michel Marc Bouchard – Tom à la ferme
Robert Morin – 3 histoires d’Indiens

Film s’étant le plus illustré à l’extérieur du Québec
Bruce LaBruce – Gerontophilia
Stéphane Lafleur – Tu dors Nicole
Don McKellar – The Grand Seduction
Xavier Dolan – Mommy WINNER
Xavier Dolan – Tom à la ferme

Meilleure direction de la photographie / Best Cinematography
Nicolas Bolduc – Enemy
Mathieu Laverdière – Henri Henri
Sara Mishara – Tu dors Nicole
André Turpin – Mommy WINNER
André Turpin – Tom à la ferme

Meilleure direction artistique / Best Artistic Direction
Marie-Claude Gosselin – Henri Henri
Guy Lalande – The Grand Seduction
Colombe Raby – Mommy
Patrice Vermette – 1987 WINNER
Patrice Vermette – Enemy

Meilleur son / Best Sound
Mario Auclair, Stéphane Bergeron, Marcel Pothier, Christian Rivest – La petite reine
Bruno Bélanger, Louis Collin, Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Robert Morin – 3 histoires d’Indiens
Sylvain Bellemare, Pierre Bertrand, Bernard Gariépy Strobl – Tu dors Nicole WINNER
Olivier Calvert, Clovis Gouaillier, Sylvain Vary – Arwad
Eric Ladouceur, Luc Mandeville, Lynne Trépanier – Uvanga

Meilleur montage / Best Editing
Glenn Berman – Uvanga
Xavier Dolan – Mommy WINNER
Michel Giroux – 3 histoires d’Indiens
Louis-Philippe Rathé – La petite reine
Yvann Thibaudeau – 1987

Meilleure musique originale / Best Original Music
Alain Auger – Uvanga
Jeff Barnaby, Joe Barrucco – Rhymes for Young Ghouls
Michel Corriveau – Exil
Patrice Dubuc, Gaëtan Gravel – Meetings With a Young Poet
Rémy Nadeau-Aubin, Organ Mood (Christophe Lamarche-Ledoux) – Tu dors Nicole WINNER

Meilleurs costumes / Best Costumes
Francesca Chamberland – Henri Henri
Xavier Dolan – Mommy
Valérie Lévesque – 1987 WINNER
Véronique Marchessault – Maïna
Denis Sperdouklis – The Grand Seduction

Meilleur maquillage / Best Make-up
Brigitte Bilodeau – Maïna
Kathryn Casault, Annick Legout – Tom à la ferme
Danielle Huard – La garde
Lizane Lasalle – Henri Henri
Colleen Quinton – Meetings With a Young Poet

Meilleure coiffure / Best Hair
Réjean Forget, Cynthia Patton – Maïna
Daniel Jacob – 1987
Ann-Louise Landry – Miraculum
Martin Lapointe – Henri Henri
Ghislaine Sant – Love Projet

Meilleur long métrage documentaire / Best Documentary
Autoportrait sans moi – Danic Champoux (ONF – Colette Loumède)
Bà nôi – Khoa Lê (Picbois Productions – Karine Dubois)
De prisons en prisons – Steve Patry (Les Films de l’Autre – Steve Patry)
La marche à suivre – Jean-François Caissy (ONF – Johanne Bergeron, Colette Loumède)
Le mystère Macpherson – Serge Giguère (ONF – C. Loumède / Les Productions du Rapide-Blanc – N. Hubert, S. Van Brabant)

Meilleur court ou moyen métrage de fiction
Anatomie – Patrick Bossé (Microclimat Films – Catherine Chagnon, Nathalie Cloutier)
Chaloupe – Sophie B Jacques (Aléas Films – Joëlle Agathe Tardif)
Mynarski chute mortelle – Matthew Rankin (Matthew Rankin, Gabrielle Tougas-Fréchette)
Suivre la piste du renard – Simon Laganière (Art & Essai – Mathieu Denis)
Toutes des connes – François Jaros (La Boîte à Fanny – François Jaros, Fanny-Laure Malo) WINNER

Meilleur court ou moyen métrage d’animation
Jutra – Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre (ONF – Marc Bertrand, René Chénier / MJSTP Films – M-Josée Saint-Pierre) WINNER
Lucky and Finnegan – Davide Di Saro (Davide Di Saro)
Migration – Fluorescent Hill (Fluorescent Hill – Mark Lomond, Johanne Ste-Marie)
Nul poisson où aller – Nicola Lemay, Janice Nadeau (ONF – Marc Bertrand)
Soif – Michèle Cournoyer (ONF – René Chénier / Unité centrale – Marcel Jean, Galilé Marion-Gauvin)

Jutra Billet d’or
Xavier Dolan – Mommy

Jutra hommage
André Melançon

Continue Reading
You may also like...

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in Film Award & Prize News

To Top