Connect with us


2023 European Film Awards: The Zone of Interest, Fallen Leaves & Anatomy of a Fall Grab Most Noms

2023 European Film Awards: The Zone of Interest, Fallen Leaves & Anatomy of a Fall Grab Most Noms

The European Film Academy revealed the nominees for the main categories of the 36th European Film Awards and while Radu Jude’s Do Not Expect Too Much from the End of the World and Tran Anh Hung’s The Taste of Things failed to make a dent in the voting results, we can expect to see a fun post Palme d’Or face-off between Jonathan Glazer’s The Zone of Interest and Justine Triet’s Anatomy of a Fall who received five and four noms apiece. Audience pleaser Fallen Leaves by Aki Kaurismäki also nabbed five noms and a surprise film nabbing three noms apiece was Venice-preemed Green Border by Agnieszka Holland. A fun category to watch on awards night December 9th is the Best Actress category: Sandra Hüller will be facing off against herself due to the votes that Anatomy of a Fall/The Zone of Interest received. Here are the noms including our favorite category of the European Discovery – Prix Fipresci.

European Film:
“Anatomy of a Fall” (Anatomie D’une Chute), directed by Justine Triet, produced by Marie-Ange Luciani and David Thion (France)
“Fallen Leaves” (Kuolleet Lehdet), directed by Aki Kaurismäki, produced by Aki Kaurismäki, Misha Jaari, Mark Lwoff and Reinhard Brundig (Finland, Germany)
“Green Border” (Zielona Granica), directed by Agnieszka Holland, produced by Marcin Wierzchosławski, Fred Bernstein and Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)
“Me Captain” (Io Capitano), directed by Matteo Garrone, produced by Matteo Garrone, Paolo Del Brocco, Ardavan Safaee and Joseph Rouschop (Italy, Belgium)
“The Zone of Interest,” directed by Jonathan Glazer, produced by James Wilson and Ewa Puszczyńska (U.K., Poland, U.S.)

European Director:
Justine Triet for “Anatomy of a Fall”
Aki Kaurismäki for “Fallen Leaves”
Agnieszka Holland for “Green Border”
Matteo Garrone for “Me Captain”
Jonathan Glazer for “The Zone of Interest”

European Screenwriter:
Justine Triet and Arthur Harari for “Anatomy of a Fall”
Aki Kaurismäki for “Fallen Leaves”
Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko and Agnieszka Holland for “Green Border”
İlker Çatak and Johannes Duncker for “The Teachers’ Lounge”
Jonathan Glazer for “The Zone of Interest”

European Actress:
Sandra Hüller in “Anatomy of a Fall”
Eka Chavleishvili in “Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry”
Alma Pöysti in “Fallen Leaves”
Mia Mckenna-Bruce in “How to Have Sex”
Leonie Benesch in “The Teachers’ Lounge”
Sandra Hüller in “The Zone of Interest”

European Actor:
Thomas Schubert in “Afire”
Jussi Vatanen in “Fallen Leaves”
Josh O’Connor in “La Chimera”
Mads Mikkelsen in “The Promised Land”
Christian Friedel in “The Zone of Interest”

European Documentary:
“Apolonia, Apolonia,” directed by Lea Glob (Denmark, Poland)
“Four Daughters” (Les Filles D’olfa), directed by Kaouther Ben Hania (France, Tunisia, Germany, Saudi Arabia)
“Motherland,” directed by Hanna Badziaka and Alexander Mihalkovich (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
“On the Adamant” (Sur L’adamant), directed by Nicolas Philibert (France, Japan)
“Smoke Sauna Sisterhood” (Savvusanna Sõsarad), directed by Anna Hints (Estonia, France, Iceland)

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci:
“20,000 Species of Bees” (20.000 Especies De Abejas), directed by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
“How to Have Sex,” directed by Molly Manning Walker (U.K., Greece)
“La Palisiada” (Ля Палісіада), directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
“Safe Place” (Sigurno Mjesto), directed by Juraj Lerotić (Croatia, Slovenia)
“The Quiet Migration” (Stille Liv), directed by Malene Choi (Denmark)
“Vincent Must Die” (Vincent Doit Mourir), directed by Stéphan Castang (France, Belgium)

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in FYC

To Top