Connect with us
Jim Jarmusch's The Dead Don't Die

Film Festivals

2019 Cannes Critics’ Panel: Day 1 – Jim Jarmusch’s The Dead Don’t Die

2019 Cannes Critics’ Panel: Day 1 – Jim Jarmusch’s The Dead Don’t Die

A long and rich history with the festival since 1984’s Stranger Than Paradise premiered on the Croisette and won the Caméra d’or 1984, Jim Jarmusch returns to the comp for an eighth time with 72nd film fest edition opener emphasizing the word dead in deadpan The Dead Don’t Die. Coined as “the greatest zombies cast ever disassembled” this Focus Features knee-slapper sees the American indie giant work with Bill Murray, Adam Driver, Tilda Swinton, Chloë Sevigny, Steve Buscemi, Danny Glover, Caleb Landry Jones, Rosie Perez, Iggy Pop, Selena Gomez, RZA, Sara Driver, Austin Butler, Luka Sabbat, Eszter Balint, Carol Kane and the cooky Tom Waits. Jarmusch won the Grand Jury Prize for Broken Flowers (review), and Short Film Palme d’or in 1993 for Coffee and Cigarettes. This is his thirteenth feature film.

While our critics are still unpacking, settling in/on the plane ride over, there were several screenings for the film including one past eleven and the general consensus from the seven scores we received is that it was a likeable, appeasable, deadpan comedy that is mostly one note, funnily self-aware and a safe bet start for the comp.

Click on the grid below for a larger version and latest updates!

2019 Cannes Critics' Panel: Day 1 - Jim Jarmusch's The Dead Don't Die

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist and critic at (founded in 2000). Eric is a regular at Sundance, Cannes and TIFF. He has a BFA in Film Studies at the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013 he served as a Narrative Competition Jury Member at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson's This Teacher (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022 he served as a New Flesh Comp for Best First Feature at the 2022 Fantasia Intl. Film Festival. Current top films for 2022 include Tár (Todd Field), All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen), Aftersun (Charlotte Wells).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top