Connect with us
Prix Jean Vigo Saint Omer

Film Festivals

Prix Jean Vigo 2022: Alice Diop’s Saint Omer

Prix Jean Vigo 2022: Alice Diop’s Saint Omer

A prestigious prize that has been handed out since 1951, the Jean Vigo Prize has been awarded annually to put the spotlight on one film auteur. This year, the overwhelming favorite was Saint Omer – the double Venice Film Festival winner by Alice Diop. In his ★★★★ review, our Nicholas Bell called this “eloquent examples of its kind, relayed firmly, quietly, and intensely as she makes a moving hypothesis about monsters and motherhood.” Super LTD landed the film just after its premiere on the lido, and it is easily among the front runners of the Best Intl. Feature category at the Oscars. Axelle Ropert won the prize last year for the Locarno preemed Petite Solange. Here are the winner from the past decade.

2010: Un poison violent by Katell Quillévéré
2011: Les Chants de Mandrin by Rabah Ameur-Zaïmeche
2012: L’Âge atomique by Héléna Klotz
2013: L’Enclos du temps by Jean-Charles Fitoussi
2014: Mange tes morts by Jean-Charles Hue
2015: La Peur by Damien Odoul[5]
2016: La Mort de Louis XIV by Albert Serra
2017: Barbara by Mathieu Amalric
2018: Shéhérazade by Jean-Bernard Marlin ex-æquo with Knife+Heart by Yann Gonzalez
2019: Vif-Argent by Stéphane Batut
2020: Énorme by Sophie Letourneur[6]

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top