Connect with us

Film Award & Prize News

“Diary of a Teenage Girl” & “Carol” Lead 2015 Gotham Award Noms

Nabbing Best Actress, Screenplay, Breakthrough Director and Feature noms, Marielle Heller’s Diary of a Teenage Girl leads all Gotham Award nominations with four, while Carol is technically tied with a foursome of mentions as well. With a pre-win (Directors Tribute) accompanied by a trio of noms in the Best Feature, Screenplay and Actress categories, Todd Haynes’ drama will likely find xeroxed nom mentions for both the Indie Spirits and Oscars.

While Rick Alverson’s Entertainment and Sebastien Silva’s Nasty Baby are noticeably absent in what some consider a backhanded compliment of a ceremony, the noms for this year’s Gothams do have some wholeheartedly merited double nom mentions for the Safdie Bros.’ Heaven Knows What, Sean Baker’s Tangerine, Bill Pohlad’s Love & Mercy and Josh Mond’s James White. The ceremony takes place on November 30th. Here are the complete noms for the 25th anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards including the Spotlight on Women Directors ‘Live the Dream’ Grant.

Best Feature
“The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
“Heaven Knows What”

Best Documentary
“Approaching the Elephant”
“Cartel Land”
“Heart of a Dog”
“Listen to Me Marlon”
“The Look of Silence”

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director
Desiree Akhavan for “Appropriate Behavior”
Jonas Carpigano for “Mediterranea”
Marielle Heller for “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
John Magary for “The Mend”
Josh Mond for “James White”

Best Screenplay
“Carol,” Phyllis Nagy
“The Diary of a Teenage Girl,” Marielle Heller
“Love & Mercy,” Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner
“Spotlight,” Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer
“While We’re Young,” Noah Baumbach

Best Actor
Christopher Abbott in “James White”
Kevin Corrigan in “Results”
Paul Dano in “Love & Mercy”
Peter Sarsgaard in “Experimenter”
Michael Shannon in “99 Homes”

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett in “Carol”
Blythe Danner in “I’ll See You in My Dreams”
Brie Larson in “Room”
Bel Powley in “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Lily Tomlin in “Grandma”
Kristen Wiig in “Welcome to Me ”

Breakthrough Actor
Rory Culkin in “Gabriel”
Arielle Holmes in “Heaven Knows What”
Lola Kirke in “Mistress America”
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez in “Tangerine”
Mya Taylor in “Tangerine”

Spotlight on Women Directors ‘Live the Dream’ Grant
Claire Carré, director, Embers
Deb Shoval, director, AWOL
Chanelle Aponte Pearson, director, 195 Lewis

Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast: Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci and Brian D’Arcy James for their ensemble work in “Spotlight.”

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Award & Prize News

To Top