Connect with us
2023 Locarno

Film Festivals

2023 Locarno Intl Film Festival: Laura Ferrés, Sofia Exarchou, Radu Jude, Ena Sendijarević, Laura Luchetti & Quentin Dupieux Selected!

2023 Locarno Intl Film Festival: Laura Ferrés, Sofia Exarchou, Radu Jude, Ena Sendijarević, Laura Luchetti & Quentin Dupieux Selected!

It’s now Locarno Intl. Film Festival (August 2nd to the 12th) Artistic Director Giona A. Nazzaro’s turn to launch us back into major film festival mode with the unveiling of the 76th edition. Last year it’s the Brazilian drama Rule 34 by Julia Murat that won the Golden Leopard (Pardo d’oro) and this year’s competition section has what we think are a bunch of gems (many were on our most anticipated films list for 2023. The Concorso internazionale section has a mix of new voices and established filmmakers such as Romanian Radu Jude who brings Do Not Expect Too Much from the End of the World (Nina Hoss doesn’t topline, but she is among the cast) a film that is dubbed as a two-part film starts as a road movie following an overworked assistant on assignment for a multinational corporation; the second follows the making of a corporate film. Lav Diaz returns to the fest with Essential Truths of the Lake (which could be the new title for Henrico’s Farm). Just before launching in France, Quentin Dupieux will premiere what was called a guerilla shoot of a project in Yannick. Several sophomore features are also in this mix: we find Maryna Vroda‘s Stepne, Ena Sendijarević’s Sweet Dreams and Sofia Exarchou’s Animal. We also find the highly anticipated directorial debut The Permanent Picture by Laura Ferrés and a third feature film by Annarita Zambrano in Rosso Speranza.

Among the highlights in the Piazza Grande programme which takes up that infamous outdoor square space, we have the world premieres for Laura Luchetti‘s La Bella Estate (Deva Cassell’s debut role), Victoria Musiedlak‘s Première Affaire (formerly titled La vie sauvage) starring Anders Danielsen Lie, Noée Abita and François Morel with while Ken Loach’s The Old Oak and Justine Triet’s Anatomy of a Fall receive some post-Cannes attention.

The Concorso Cineasti del presente section will offer a look at a slew of mostly new talents (first and second features) (among them Romain de Saint-Blanquat with La morsure and Lucy Kerr with Family Portrait) while Fuori concorso has a load of films we’ve been tracking for more than a year now. France items in Émilie Deleuze‘s Cinq hectares (Lambert Wilson, Marina Hands) and Caroline Poggi and Jonathan Vinel‘s Best Secret Place (perhaps a different project as Eat the Night) are lumped in with Denis Côté‘s Mademoiselle Kenopsia and Ran Huang‘s What Remains starring Andrea Riseborough and Stellan Skarsgård. Here is the four sections selections:

Concorso internazionale
Animal – Sofia Exarchou
Baan – Leonor Teles
El Auge Del Humano 3 – Eduardo Williams
Essential Truths of the Lake – Lav Diaz
The Permanent Picture – Laura Ferrés
Lousy Carter – Bob Byington
Manga D’Terra – Basil Da Cunha
Mantagheye Bohrani (Critical Zone) – Ali Ahmadzadeh
The Invisible Fight – Rainer Sarnet
Nuit Obscure – Au Revoir Ici N’Importe Où – Sylvain George
Patagonia  – Simone Bozzelli
Rossosperanza – Annarita Zambrano
Stepne – Maryna Vroda
Sweet Dreams – Ena Sendijarević
The Vanishing Soldier – Dani Rosenberg
Yannick – Quentin Dupieux

Piazza Grande
Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet
Guardians of the Formula – Dragan Bjelogrlić
Dammi – Yann Mounir Demange
Falling Stars – Richard Karpala, Gabriel Bienczycki
Étoile filante – Fiona Gordon, Dominique Abel
La Bella Estate – Laura Luchetti
City of Women – Federico Fellini  – 1980
La Paloma – Daniel Schmid – 1974
La Voie royale – Frédéric Mermoud
Smugglers – RYOO Seung-wan
Première Affaire – Victoria Musiedlak
Shayda – Noora Niasari
The Old Oak – Ken Loach
Theater Camp – Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman

Concorso Cineasti del presente
Camping du lac – Eléonore Saintagnan
Ein schöner Ort – Katharina Huber
Excursion – Una Gunjak
Family Portrait – Lucy Kerr
Dreaming & Dying – Nelson Yeo
La morsure – Romain de Saint-Blanquat
Negu Hurbilak – Colectivo Negu
On the Go – María Gisèle Royo, Julia de Castro
Rimdogittanga – Dominic Sangma
Rivière – Hugues Hariche
Todos Los Incendios (All The Fires) – Mauricio Calderón Rico
Touched – Claudia Rorarius
Und dass man ohne Täuschung zu leben vermag – Katharina Lüdin
Whispers of Fire and Water – Lubdhak Chatterjee
West Border – Yan Luo

Fuori concorso
5 Hectares – Émilie Deleuze
Best Secret Place – Caroline Poggi, Jonathan Vinel
Bonjour la langue – Paul Vecchiali
Conann – Bertrand Mandico
Lovano Supreme – Franco Maresco
Mademoiselle Kenopsia – Denis Côté
Mimì – Il principe delle tenebre – Brando De Sica
Nous les barbares – Bertrand Mandico
Procida // Leonardo Di Costanzo
Ricardo et la peinture – Barbet Schroeder
Topakk – Richard V. Somes
What Remains – Ran Huang

Eric Lavallée is the founder, CEO, editor-in-chief, film journalist, and critic at, established in 2000. A regular at Sundance, Cannes, and Venice, Eric holds a BFA in film studies from the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema. In 2013, he served on the narrative competition jury at the SXSW Film Festival. He was an associate producer on Mark Jackson’s "This Teacher" (2018 LA Film Festival, 2018 BFI London). In 2022, he was a New Flesh Juror for Best First Feature at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Current top films for 2023 include The Zone of Interest (Glazer), Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell (Pham Thien An), Totem (Lila Avilés), La Chimera (Alice Rohrwacher), All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt (Raven Jackson).

Click to comment

More in Film Festivals

To Top